Scholastic India

Read Every Day. Lead a Better Life.

Bangalore-Here I Come…

My sister Thea told me it wasn’t a good idea to go to India in the summer. She knows I’m no tough-it-out kind of mouse. I hate to admit that she is right. Excited as I was about my Indian holiday, I had put a stash of energy cheese sticks in my backpack.

But the Bangalore sun is no monstrous cat. It smiled down cheerfully as I made my way to my hotel in an awesome ratmobile that runs on three tiny wheels. As the sun slowly set behind the horizon, I realized this city was actually as cool as a tub of cheesy chunks ice cream!

As I unpacked and put away the now unnecessary energy sticks, I decided to go on a short tour of the city the following day. At 7 am sharp, when I was still groggy in my nightclothes, I was pleasantly surprised and a little embarrassed when Elieka, my charming tour guide, handed me the day’s itinerary. Soon we were off visiting lush gardens, and ended the day by biking around the calm waters of Hesaraghatta Lake.

But things got even better by evening. My book-reading session at Reliance Timeout was a huge success. I was deeply touched by the number of fans that had come to hear me read from one of my books. I signed numerous copies for them, and clicked many photographs with a broad grin on my face. The manager of the store even treated me to paneer pakoras, fried Indian cheese, a little spicy for my tongue, but whisker-lickin’ good!

Elieka is taking me to Cubbon Park tomorrow. She says it is a marvelous retreat from the usual Bangalore crowds, and the perfect place for my next reading. I’m looking forward to meeting my fans again, but I’m also hoping there will be a paneer pakora stall nearby. Those things are addictive!

The Great India Greonimo Tour-Bangalore

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

