Scholastic India

Read Every Day. Lead a Better Life.

Lucknow is Spectacular!

 My first taste of Lucknow was at the Charbagh Railway Station, when I got off from my train and was overwhelmed by the old, magnificent architecture that welcomed me. I was tired from my journey, so I went straight to my hotel, unpacked and ratnapped for a few hours.

Lucknow is a small city, so I had allocated just a day to look around. But my taxi driverat scoffed at me for being naïve. Lucknow might be small, but it is filled with places to see and fascinating history to take in. Saying this, Birju Lambepoochwallah and I began sightseeing. We went to the Bara Imambara, which completely boggled my mind and I wobbled around its maze-like premises. Soon, I was squeaking my admiration of the St. Joseph’s Cathedral, after seeing which we headed off for the Begum Hazrat Mahal Park. It was getting dark, and I being a scaredy mouse, convinced Birju that we should only make a quick trip to the Nawabganj Bird Sanctuary.

I could tell Birju didn’t think much of me; he told me about all the adventurous mice, travelers ten times more enthusiastic than me, who he had shown around this spectacular city. After a long day of sightseeing, I was ready to hit the sack, so I decided not to tell Birju about the many adventures I’ve been on. Instead I thanked him wholeheartedly and went to my hotel room for some shuteye. On the road again tomorrow!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

