Scholastic India

Read Every Day. Lead a Better Life.

White City Adventure

 

Udaipur is living up to its title of the white city by burning with a white-hot glow. It feels like I’m simmering in a pot of melted cheese, though just like touring the city, it’s quite a pleasant prospect.

I set out to explore the city and could not help but squeak with wonder at the lovely structures of the marble palaces which lend the city its name. The most impressive of these was the Lake Palace. Being situated in the middle of the Lake Pichola, I crossed over on a boat. The vast expanse of water looked quite inviting, but as you know, I’m a bit of a ‘fraidy mouse and didn’t much fancy getting my fur wet. The palace was huge on the inside and my whiskers quivered with excitement at the thought of living in such a beautiful place. The emperats must have had such amazing lives back then!

I roamed around the rest of the city, admiring the life-size statues of famouse warriors, the Nehru Gardens and the Doodh Talai. My stomach started rumbling around lunchtime, and I was wondering where to find a morsel to nibble on when I spotted a stall selling—you guessed it—paneer! I scampered over and ordered a plate of paneer pakoras, lovely, hot, and melt-in-the-mouth fritters with a filling of Indian cheese.

As I was relishing my meal, some bystanders squealed “Geronimo Stilton” and excitedly requested autographs. I was slightly embarrassed but pleasantly surprised.

I sauntered back to my hotel at leisure, taking in the beautiful city and wondering what Madhya Pradesh would be like. I’m off to Bhopal tomorrow; so until then, cheesy good wishes to y’all!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

